Saltar apartados
  • UA
  • University News
  • The Latin American Studies Centre Mario ..national poetry prize Juan Carlos Mestre

The Latin American Studies Centre Mario Benedetti opens an exhibition on Chilean Writers in Spain with the attendance of national poetry prize Juan Carlos Mestre


Alicante, 11 December 2013

On Friday, 13 December at 11 am, the Embassy of Chile, the UA’s Latin American Studies Centre Mario Benedetti of the Chile-Spain Foundation inaugurate a photographic exhibition of Chilean Writers in Spain in the on-campus Aifos Room ( Faculty of Arts building III). The exhibition is dedicated to authors who have lived and participated with their creation in our country, where they have left their literary mark. The tour comprises 40 pictures, most of them taken by photographer Raúl Hernández .

The inaugural event will include a roundtable on contemporary Chilean literature in the room annexed to the Latin American Studies Centre Mario Benedetti (CEMAB), which will include speeches from Juan Carlos Mestre (National Poetry Prize), Matías Barchino (lecturer at the University of Castille-La Mancha), Alejandro San Francisco (cultural attaché of the Embassy of Chile) and lecturer Carmen Alemany, who will act as the moderator. Also, during his intervention, Juan Carlos Mestre will recite some verses of the most significant authors such as Pablo Neruda, Nicanor Parra, Gonzalo Rojas and Raul Zurita .

The opening ceremony will close with a screening of the documentary “Neruda, paralelo 38º Sur”, produced by University of Alicante’s Image Workshop in 2004. It displays the poetic and real journey that takes the child Ricardo Eliecer Neftalí Reyes until he becomes the universal poet, Pablo Neruda is traversed. The film won the Best Documentary at the 26th International Cinema Mediterrani Mostra de Valencia and it is an original idea of of journalist and television producer, María Martín.

Despite its small size, Chile is the only Latin American country with two Nobel Prizes in Literature, Gabriela Mistral (1945) and Pablo Neruda (1971). It also has three Miguel de Cervantes Literature Awards, which is the highest recognition to the creative work of Spanish and Latin American writers: Jorge Edwards (1999 ), Gonzalo Rojas ( 2003) and Nicanor Parra (2011). Other writers have also won prestigious awards such as Oscar Hahn, with the “Casa de América” Award for American Poetry (2006).


Juan Carlos Mestre (national poetry prize)

University News

Universidad de Alicante
Carretera de San Vicente del Raspeig s/n
03690 San Vicente del Raspeig
Alicante (Spain)

Tel: (+34) 96 590 3400

Fax: (+34) 96 590 3464

For further information:, and for enquiries on this web server:

Carretera San Vicente del Raspeig s/n - 03690 San Vicente del Raspeig - Alicante - Tel. 96 590 3400 - Fax 96 590 3464