Saltar apartados
  • UA
  • University News
  • UA Governing Council approves the incorp..ics Eric Maskin as a new honorary member

UA Governing Council approves the incorporation of Nobel Laureate in Economics Eric Maskin as a new honorary member

UA President will report on the administrative appeal of Baena Tocón-Miguel Hernandez issue


Archive image of the UA Governing Council


Alicante, Monday 29 July 2019

University of Alicante Governing Council held its ordinary July meeting on Tuesday 29, which, as usual,  took place in the Office of the UA President Board Room. The appointment, scheduled at 9:30 am in the first call and at 10 am in the second, was presided over by the UA President Manuel Palomar.

In addition to other internal matters, the Council submitted for debate the approval of the proposal to appoint American economist Eric S. Maskin — 2007 Nobel Prize in Economics along with Leonid Hurwicz and Roger B. Myerson — as an honorary doctor for having laid the basis for the Theory of Mechanism Design.

During his speech, the UA president informed the Council of the decision of the administrative appeal lodged by lecturer Juan Antonio Ríos in view of the deindexation of RUA publication in certain names contained in his article entitled “El Caso Diego San José y el Juez Humorista”. After the meeting, UA president assisted the media so that a press release with the main agreement could be issued.


About Maskin

Professor Eric S. Maskin graduated in Mathematics from Harvard University in 1972, where he earned his doctoral degree in 1976, under the supervision of Professor Kenneth Arrow. He was subsequently Full Professor at MIT between 1981 and 1984, and in 1985 he was awarded a professorship at Harvard, where he remained until 2000. In that year he moved to the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, where he was Albert O. Hirschman Professor of Social Sciences until 2011 when he returned to Harvard. He is currently the Adams University Professor of Economics and Mathematics at Harvard.

Among other distinctions, Professor Eric S. Maskin won the Nobel Prize in Economics in 2007, shared with Leonid Hurwicz and Roger Myerson. Professor Maskin is a Fellow of the Econometric Society (1981), the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1994), the British Academy (2003) and the US National Academy of Sciences. (2008).

His contributions to the economy can be divided into three fields. Firstly, he has strengthened the foundations of game theory, elaborating the first works on the existence of equilibrium in games with discontinuous payments and the first really satisfactory theorem "folk" in games infinitely repeated, in which each player considers an infinite series of discounted payments. In this line, he also proposed the idea of Markovian equilibrium. Another type of contributions focuses on showing how game theory can be applied to a variety of problems, among which we find the decentralised planning — theory of implementation — control of externalities, price discrimination and oligopoly in a dynamic framework. Finally, in the theory of social choice, he is responsible for one of the first axiomatisations of utilitarianism and a study of the robustness of the majority rule.

Professor Maskin has published a total of 127 articles, 13 working papers and one book (The Arrow Impossibility Theorem, with A. Sen, Columbia University Press, 2014), and has edited four books. Also, Professor Maskin was American Editor of the Review of Economic Studies 1987-1982, Editor of the Quarterly Journal of Economics 1984-90 and Associate Editor of the following journals: Social Choice and Welfare 1983-2007, Journal of Risk and Uncertainty 1987-1994, Games and Economic Behavior since 1988, Journal of Economic Perspectives 2001-2004, Journal of Developing Areas since 2001, International Journal of Game Theory 2003-2007 and Economics Letters 1992-2011.





University News

Universidad de Alicante
Carretera de San Vicente del Raspeig s/n
03690 San Vicente del Raspeig
Alicante (Spain)

Tel: (+34) 96 590 3400

Fax: (+34) 96 590 3464

For further information:, and for enquiries on this web server:

Carretera San Vicente del Raspeig s/n - 03690 San Vicente del Raspeig - Alicante - Tel. 96 590 3400 - Fax 96 590 3464