Journees 2017, des Systemes de Reference et de la Rotation Terrestre
“Furthering our knowledge of Earth Rotation” 
25 to 27 September 2017 
  University of Alicante,   Spain
The Observatoire de Paris and the Universidad de Alicante are pleased to announce that the “Journees des Systemes de Reference et de la Rotation Terrestre“ (*) will take place from 25 to 27 September 2017 at the University of Alicante, Spain.  The Journees are supported by the International Astronomical Union (IAU) and the International Association of Geodesy (IAG).

In the interest of enhancing the interactions between Astronomy and Geodesy these Journees are devoted to the study of the space-time celestial and terrestrial reference systems and their evolution with time, with the emphasis on the rotation of the Earth.  The scope of the meeting will range from concepts and theoretical solutions to observational techniques and data analysis.

The sub-title of this meeting is “Furthering our knowledge of Earth Rotation” and addresses the challenges brought by the accuracy requirements of the Horizon 2020 project. Therefore, our discussions will help to develop the tasks of the IAU/IAG Joint Working Group on “Theory of Earth rotation and validation”, among others.

The topics of interest include, but are not limited to:
  1. Theory of Earth rotation variations: precession/nutation, polar motion, LOD/UT1
  2. Observation methods of Earth rotation variations: Earth Orientation Parameters (EOP) determination
  3. Celestial and terrestrial reference systems and frames: improvements
  4. Modelling of Earth rotation variations: solar system dynamics and global geophysical fluid mass transports
  5. Relativity and new concepts in Earth rotation theory

Scientific Organizing Committee

Jose M. Ferrandiz (Spain) and Christian Bizouard (France)

Honorary Chair:

Nicole Capitaine (France)

Aleksander Brzezinski (Polland)
Benjamin Chao (Taiwan)
Alberto Escapa (Spain)
Richard S. Gross (USA)
Robert Heinkelmann (Germany)
Catherine Hohenkerk (UK)
Cheng-li Huang (China)
Sergei Klioner (Germany)
Sebastien Lambert (France)
Zinovy Malkin (Russia)
Cyril Ron (Czech Rep.)
Yaroslav Yatskiv (Ukraine)

Local Organizing Committee
Tomas Baenas,
M. Carmen Martinez-Belda,
Juan A. Martinez,
Juan F. Navarro,
Santiago Belda,
Isabel Vigo.

Group photo